Key facts on the Demon Slayer Corps


Tanjiro Kamado has become a demon slayer after 2 years of tough exercises, as mentioned in one of the articles. However, not everybody can join the Demon Slayer Corps. Only selected people can join the organization.

This article is for those who:

> missed Tanjiro Kamado Unwavering Resolve Arc and want to know how to become a demon slayer
> want to know how the Demon Slayer Corps is organized

The Demon Slayer Corps

The Demon Slayer Corps is an organization which is not officially recognized by the government. It consists of some hundred personnels. The Master Ubuyashiki manages the organization and nine Hashira’s are reporting to the Master. Tsuguko, who receives direct training from Hashira, swordsmen of different ranks, and Kakushi, who supports the work of swordsmen, are working under Hashira’s.

Organization of the Demon Slayer Corps

How to become a demon slayer

Many swordsmen in the Demon Slayer Corps are the persons who have decided to join the organization in order to break the chain of sadness, after their family had been massacred by demons. Once somebody has decided to become a demon slayer, typically he or she will be trained under one of the trainers called “Sodate (育) in Japanese. 
There are many trainers and the way of training is left to each trainer. The training is mainly to build up physical strength and to learn how to correctly use the sword. Tanjiro Kamado and Giyu Tomioka have been trained by Sakonji Urokodaki, who was previously The Water Hashira.

Y’s Crow
Y’s Crow

Sakonji Urokodaki always wears a goblin mask. It is because he has a very gentle face and he was fooled by many demons.

Final Selection

Once the candidates of demon slayers have finished the training, they have to pass the final selection held in Mount Fujikasane (藤襲山). Mount Fujikasane literally means “mountain where wisteria flowers assail”. Demons which demon slayers have caught are imprisoned in this mountain. At the foot of the mountain wisteria flowers bloom out of season. As demons dislike wisteria flowers, they cannot come out of the mountain.
The condition to pass the final selection is to survive 7 days in Mount Fujikasane, where bloodthirsty demons are waiting for human blood and meat.

Y’s Crow
Y’s Crow

The condition to pass the final selection is to survive 7 days. It is also possible to pass the final selection without killing one single demon.

What is provided after passing the final selection?

Special clothing

The uniform made with high-performance fibers is provided. This clothing is breathable and does not get wet or burn easily. Lower ranked demons cannot tear this special fabric with their nails. 
The buttons of the uniforms have the pattern of wisteria flowers. Probably it is meant as a good-luck charm to protect demon slayers’ lives. On the rear side, there is a character “” meaning “destroy”.

Kasugai Crow (鎹烏)

One Kasugai Crow per demon slayer is provided. Kasugai (鎹)” in Japanese means “connecting people”. These are the crows which received special training and communicate the order from the Master etc. to the demon slayer.
Only Zenitsu Agatsuma got a sparrow instead of a crow.


Ranks in the Demon Slayer Corps

Under the highest rank Hashira, there are 10 ranks. The swordsman who has passed the final selection gets the lowest rank Mizunoto. The swordsmen can check their ranks by showing the rank name on the back of their hands.
If there is a vacancy in Hashira, a new Hashira will be selected from Kinoe. The conditions to become a Hashira: One has to 1) have Kinoe rank, 2) have killed 50 or more demons or have killed one of the highest ranked demons, The Twelve Kizuki.

The rank is engraved on the back of the hand. In the Entertainment District Arc, Inosuke says “Show me my rank!” and clench his fist. Then his rank shows up on his fist.

This “word” which swells up due to muscle expansion is a special technique called WISTERIA CURVING. It’s a symbol of demon slayers

Damon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Comic 9, Chapter 75
Image: Rank “Kanoe” on the back of the hand (Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Comic Vol.9, Chapter 75, by Koyoharu Gotouge, SHUEISHA)

Nichirin Blade (日輪刀)

Nichirin Blade is certainly the most important item for the demon slayer. It is made from the materials the demon slayers have chosen by themselves after passing the final selection. 

The Nichirin Blade’s raw materials are iron sand and ore from the highest mountain that is closest to the sun. “Scarlet Crimson Iron Sand” and “Scarlet Crimson Ore”. They are metals that have absorbed the sunlight. Never troubled by clouds or rain. The mountain the materials are from, the sunlight mountain, is bathed in sunlight all year round.

Explanation by the swordsmith Hotaru Haganezuka, Comic Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Vol.2

Nichirin Blade is also called “the blade of color change”, which means that the blade changes its color depending on the owner and the breathing technique he/she has acquired. In the beginning all the blades have a silver-like color like normal swords. The color changes when the owner unsheathes the sword for the first time.

In the case of Tanjiro, the blade turned to black, which is a rare color for Nichirin Blade and not very welcomed. In Mugen Train Arc, Kyojuro Rengoku also says:

“I’ve never seen a swordsman with a black blade become a Hashira! What’s more, I understand that you don’t even know what kinda swordsmanship to master!”

Comic Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Vol.7
Y’s Crow
Y’s Crow

Tanjiro has been trained under Sakonji Urokodaki who teaches water breathing techniques. Usually swordsmen who use water breathing techniques have blue blades like Giyu Tomioka. Why has Tanjiro’s blade turned to black? As you guess, it is related to “Hinokami Kagura“. The mystery will be solved later in the story. Look forward to it!

Copied title and URL